view all news

Brian Beaton Posthumously Awarded the Stanley Hawes Award

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Brian Beaton is to be posthumously awarded the annual Stanley Hawes award at the opening of the 2017 Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC) on 3 March 2017. The much loved Perth producer sadly passed away suddenly in June 2016.

The award recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary sector and was established in 1997 to honour Stanley Hawes, documentary producer and director, and the first Producer-in-Chief of the Australian National Film Board and Commonwealth Film Unit. 

Brian had a long and successful career, establishing Reel Images in the early 1980’s with his brother John, before forming Artemis International in 2000 with Celia Tait, where he produced over 100 hours of television, including seven series of Who Do You Think You Are? Brian had a drive for making films about social change, once telling Celia “we only have so many productions left to make in our careers so let’s choose carefully and make sure they matter.” Films like The Lloyd Rayney Story, Saving Andrew Mallard, The Dreamhouse and The Bombing of Darwin had an impact on the community and still do today.

“We are thrilled that Brian has been posthumously recognised with this award. It’s of course bittersweet. We wish Brian was here to collect it in person and feel the gratitude and admiration from his peers. It is a wonderful acknowledgement of his work over many decades,” said Celia.

Brian was a passionate member of the documentary community, always working hard to ensure documentaries were well represented in the industry. Brian was the chair of AIDC in 2000 and was also a long term Screen Producers Australia Association (SPAA) member, serving on the national Council for many years.  In 2002 Brian was the recipient of the SPAA documentary producer of the year and Artemis International won this again in 2012 and 2014. 

In December 2016, Screenwest, FTI and Artemis International announced the Brian Beaton Award to continue Brian’s legacy. This will be awarded annually to a Western Australian filmmaker with a social impact project. The recipient will receive tailored mentorships from leading industry professionals in Western Australia and a cash contribution towards their project.

Screenwest Chief Executive Ian Booth said Brian had been instrumental in developing the Western Australian screen sector for more than 35 years and was committed to its future.

“Brian was passionate about developing the next generation of filmmakers, and often gave up his time to mentor them.The Brian Beaton Award will honour his contribution and continue this work.”

Celia Tait and John Beaton will fly to Melbourne to accept the Stanley Hawes Award on behalf of Brian.

Media enquiries:
Neta Gill, Communications Manager, Screenwest – 08 6169 2107 or 0409 445 456
Brittany Lewis, Artemis International -08 9228 2852